Return to Headlines

Students participate in 14th annual Creative Leadership Conference

Students from the Eastern Monroe Career Center participated in the 14th Annual Creative Leadership Conference held at St. John Fisher College, Nov. 18-20, 2019.


Over the course of the three days, students engaged in creative problem solving, collaboration and innovation by exploring different mindsets, principles and tools. Students used their new skills to work with business clients on the final day of the conference, the much-anticipated Client Day. Joining us this year were special guests Betsy Verschage from Isaac Cooling & Heating, Shane Rhinewald of the Museum of Play and Rebecca Valladares of CooperVision. The Creative Leadership Conference was facilitated by Kate Levy, EMCC mathematics and science consultant teacher, and Cory Wright, coordinator of Monroe One BOCES’ School to Career Collaborative.


Each business client worked with a student team and presented them with a challenge. The team worked to formulate the challenge, explore ideas, develop solutions and formulate action steps around their given challenge. Each team then presented their plans to their client.


The feedback from the clients was overwhelmingly positive with them sharing how invaluable it was working with our students on real-life challenges and how much they can bring back to their companies.


“I was thoroughly impressed with the students’ understanding of the problem-solving process, their organizational skills, professionalism and creativity,” said Betsy Verschage of Isaac Cooling & Heating. “It was truly an open environment where all ideas were welcome, and the outcome far surpassed my expectations.  I would highly recommend going through this process with your students.  I was able to look at a workplace challenge from a fresh perspective and was able to bring those ideas back to my team.”


Students said the conference helped them build confidence, think differently and understand different processes when it comes to problem solving. They participated from the following districts: Pittsford, Rush-Henrietta, Brighton, Fairport, W. Irondequoit, Penfield, Webster and East High.


View more photos on Facebook


 Creative Leadership Conference